People will always help you if you need help

The first destination Louvin-la-Neuve, the city of my good Belgium friend Cedric, reached yesterday. My departure got delayed a little bit so I adjusted my plans to the current situation and started to cycle only on Tuesday afternoon from Mons in Belgium. This turned up to be a great starting point as the town has a wonderful info centre where they provide you with free cyclo maps and lots of useful information, plus they have a very handsome staff  speaking a very cute French English that will explain you anything you don’t understand about cycling in Belgium.

When I finally got on the road, my first thoughts were dedicated to my mother. I wished she had been there, hugged me and never let go. I really didn’t feel like doing it. But turning back wasn’t an option so I just pedalled. And pedalled and pedalled and pedalled and started to feel good, pedalled and enjoyed it and pedalled and got excited. Wow, the feeling of absolute freedom was incredibly relieving.

I went along a canal so the route was very simple. Despite that I got lost and spent about an hour going there and back before understanding where I was. But I got it! In the end I found my way and felt very proud.

A canal is a great  help for understanding direction but not such a good place for wild camping. There is just water and the path so anywhere you stay, you are too visible. Fortunately, I managed to arrive to a place with small gardens and cottages which seemed a bit safer. However, I don’t remember when I felt more in panic than this night. Before going to sleep, I found out that my phone provider doesn’t allow me to call or send massages so I couldn’t let anyone know where I was. Shit! My hard was beating incredibly fast and I got serious problems with breathing. At about midnight a very dear friend Vojtech saved me by calling me (interestingly enough I can receive calls just cannot make any) and talking to me. Knowing that somebody knows where I am, calmed me down and I finally slept as a baby.

The next day I got saved again. I was heading to Louvin-la-Neuve but I had no means of letting Cedric know that I was coming. But when you need help, it will come. I asked one cyclist for direction to my destination and he offered me to cycle with me for a while and show me the way. During our basic conversation (how frustrating that they really don’t speak any English here) I found out that he was Italian so we had a language in common. Wow, how nice to switch to a language that you can use properly. Thanks to that I managed to explain my phone troubles and use his to call to Cedric.

So here I am. In a company of someone very dear to me, with the comfort of a cold  shower (the only thing that saved me from a very bad headache from the sun), kitchen and a proper bed. And I am excited to give it up again and continue to Maastricht this afternoon.

And what’s the lesson of the first short part?

1. My mobile provider is shit.

2. People will always help you if you need help.

3. Cycling all day under the sun will make you extremely sick.

4.  Despite the stress, pain and sickness, this has been the best idea I have ever had!